Petter Solberg (NO)

Sula

My week at Sula (28 August to 4 September) was the perfect opportunity to do some sketching and thinking before my residency at LKV in Trondheim. Having spent most of my summers along the coast of Southern Norway, the experience felt both familiar and strange. We had a couple of nice summer days, but I enjoyed the wind and the rain just as much. The great thing about a place like Sula is how you get the time and space to just be present and observe the weather, the changing temperatures and how the light moves across the landscape. Being a travelling artist can often be challenging because it constantly forces you to prepare for the next place, always moving on. Being able to slow down every once in a while and look around is important, and Sula was perfect for this.

I also got to meet a few of the locals and a couple of tourists, and I did a small presentation of my work at the local supermarket. One of the highlights of my stay was a boat trip up to the island Halten, which was once a thriving fishing community. I am looking forward to see how my experience at Sula will inform my work at LKV and beyond. I tend to work on larger projects that evolve gradually over time, and sometimes the process take unexpected turns.

www.petter-solberg.com

Halten

Halten

Old workshop, Halten

Old workshop, Halten

Sula

Leave a comment